Discover the Nadis through these 10 Yoga Practices

Photo of author
Written By Boss

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet consectetur pulvinar ligula augue quis venenatis. 

If you’re familiar with yoga, you’ve probably heard of chakras. But have you heard of Nadis?

Nadis are an equally important aspect of the subtle body. But it didn’t get much recognition. The word Nadi means “flowing water” or “river”. These mighty rivers are believed to flow through our bodies. Sometimes astronomically.

What is Qimai?

What is Qimai

Nadis are subtle energy threads that run through the body. Like nerves and tendons, they are invisible to the naked eye.

Energy flows through prana or divine energy channels. It also channels life and stream of consciousness.

The human body has approximately 72,000 meridians. It all exudes a life force.

On a physical level, this corresponds to the nervous system. But her influence goes far beyond that. When all nadis are working properly, you feel healthy and generally happy. But most of us have physical or psychological problems. This can mean that certain channels are not working properly. They may need to be balanced.

What is Qi?

What is Qi?

Prana is conscious energy.

This means that nadi also transmits consciousness. Through Qi channels, people can see and hear things far away. You can move to other levels of consciousness.

There have been reports of many individuals presumed to be clinically dead. They then came to life and described driving through the tunnel. There is light at the end of the tunnel.

This tunnel is the nadi where life escapes from the body.

Many people also have “tunnel experiences” in their dreams. They do not leave their bodies, but are in an altered state of consciousness. Nadis make the spiritual journey possible. This helps consciousness travel to places in the universe in the movement of the body.

3 most important meridians

3 most important meridians


This is considered the most important energy channel in the body. It runs from the base of the spine to the top of the head. It is along the central axis of the nucleus.

The divinely coiled serpentine energy is believed to reside within each of us. This is commonly known as Kundalini Shakti. It usually lies dormant at the base of the spine. It wraps three and a half times around the root chakra.

But once awakened, Kundalini Shakti arises through the central channel. It activates every chakra on the way to the crown. This is what happens when we achieve enlightenment.

True harmony is found when the midrib is balanced and active. You are fully awakened to divinity.

This central channel of the spinal cord represents consciousness.


Ida Nadi is attached to the left side of the body. It starts at the base of the spine and runs up the midline. It intersects with the Sushumna of each major chakra. Finally, it terminates in the left nostril.

This nadi is also associated with the moon. The “yin” side is seen as softer, darker, more feminine and mysterious. Since ida nadi terminates in the left nostril, it is also associated with right brain dominance.

It is believed to lean toward creativity and artistry.


The pingala nadi is attached to the right side of the body. It ends at the right nostril, symbolizing the law of the sun. It also starts at the base of the rotation and intersects the Sushumna and Ida meridians.

This channel is also assigned to the solar side. The “yang” side is considered stronger, lighter, more masculine, and more pronounced.

In theory, it leans toward analytical and methodical thinking.

Qimai stimulating exercises

#1 Nadi Shodhana (Alternate Nostril)

Nadi Shodhana (alternate nostril)

This pranayama practice brings fresh oxygen through the meridians of the body. It cleans and balances the left and right sides of the brain. Nadi Shodhana also tunes the masculine and feminine energies.

Practicing this breathing technique can relieve stress. It also balances hormones and calms the nervous system.

#2 Ujjayi (Breath of the Sea)

This practice of pranayama is often referred to as ocean breathing. It is the most popular and most practiced form of pranayama.

Ujjayi breathing is calm, grounded, focused and easy to execute. It keeps you focused and present during meditation and yoga. Ujjayi narrows the back of your throat and teaches you to pay attention to your breathing. It creates a warming sensation all over the body.

By building internal heat, it regulates body temperature and helps focus. It also relieves headaches and sinus pressure.

#3 Kapalabhati (Skull Light)

Kapalabhati (Skull Lamp)

Kapalabhati consists of active exhalation and passive inhalation. This pranayama exercise works the abs and stomach. It also cleanses the second, third and seventh chakras of the body.

This exercise stimulates the digestive fire in the abdomen. It is sometimes called “skull flare”. When done correctly, it can give a feeling of lightness on top of the head.

This practice also frees up congestion in Sushumna Nadi.

#4 Hold your breath (hold your breath)

Holding your breath is the core practice of traditional Hatha pranayama. There are two types of storage. It is called Antara after inhalation. After exhaling it is called Bahya.

Let’s break down the word apnea a little further. “Kumbha” means pot. It is the traditional image of the human torso as a breathing vessel. It has two openings in the neck and pelvic floor. Antara means inside and Bahya means outside.

#5 Bhastrika (Breath of Fire)


Leave a Comment